Trey Smith Named to Wuerffel Watch List



FORT WALTON BEACH, Fla. – Tennessee offensive lineman Trey Smith’s efforts off the field continue to be recognized, as the senior has been named to the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy Watch List, the national selection committee announced on Thursday.

Honoring college football’s most impactful leaders in community service, The Wuerffel Trophy is presented to the FBS player who best combines exemplary community service with leadership achievement on and off the field. National voters consider nominees from over 100 major universities.

Smith is one of a record 114 football student-athletes to be placed on the early list and one of 14 players from the SEC to be named.

The Jackson, Tennessee, native continued his commitment to the community even during a busy football season. Smith is an active speaker to youth groups, elementary schools and organizations across the state and led coat drives for Knoxville Area Rescue Ministry (KARM) during the 2018 and 2019 seasons where over 1,000 coats were donated each year because of his efforts.

Smith started 12 games at left guard in 2019 en route to All-SEC First Team honors from the coaches and media. He was named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice this fall. After missing the final five games of the 2018 season and a comeback to football questionable due to complications stemming from blood clots, Smith returned to his dominant ways and spearheaded Tennessee’s six-game win streak to end the season. SEC Network analyst and offensive line expert Cole Cubelic named Smith to his All-America First Team.

His off-the-field efforts were also honored at the end of the 2019 season, as Smith was named the 2020 Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year and was the first-ever recipient of the Fritz Pollard Trophy, which honors a college player who has exemplified extraordinary courage, community values, and exceptional performance on the field, during Superbowl LIV week.

Smith’s recognition on the list comes after earning a spot on the Outland Trophy Watch List on Tuesday, adding to an already growing list of preseason recognition for the 2020 season that includes honors from the Walter Camp Foundation as well as College Football News, Athlon Sports, Phil Steele and Street & Smith magazines.

The formal announcement of the 2020 recipient will be made at the National Football Foundation’s festivities in New York City on Dec. 8. The presentation of the 2020 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 52nd All Sports Association Awards Banquet on Feb. 19, 2021 in Fort Walton Beach.

See the full Wuerffel Trophy Watch List HERE.

2020 Tennessee Football Preseason Honors

Brent Cimaglia, Sr., PK
Lou Groza Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Athlon, College Football News, Phil Steele)

Eric Gray, So., RB
Doak Walker Award Watch List
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Velus Jones Jr., Sr., WR/RS
Paul Hornung Award Watch List
All-SEC Third Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Brandon Kennedy, Sr., OL
All-SEC Third Team (Phil Steele)

Cade Mays, Jr., OL
Outland Trophy Watchlist
Second-Team All-American (Sporting News)
All-SEC Second Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Wanya Morris, So., OL
All-SEC First Team (College Football News)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Phil Steele)

Josh Palmer, Sr., WR
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Trey Smith, Sr., OL
Wuerffel Trophy Watch List
Outland Trophy Watch List
First-Team All-American (Athlon, Phil Steele, Sporting News)
Second-Team All-American (Walter Camp)
All-SEC First Team (Athlon, College Football News, Phil Steele)

Bryce Thompson, Jr., DB
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Henry To’o To’o, So., LB
Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Butkus Award Watch List
Bednarik Award Watch List
All-SEC First Team (Phil Steele)
All-SEC Second Team (Athlon)